The club made the decision to change its name from Parkhouse FC in April 2012 in an attempt to secure a better geographic identity than it had failed to achieve over the previous twenty-three years under the former name.
The name was taken from the Clay Cross Town team that had originally formed in 1909 after the amalgamation of the Clay Cross Works FC and Clay Cross Zingari FC. In their first season they won the Derbyshire Senior Challenge Cup being the first team from the town to do so.
The club folded though in 1911 with debts owing to the princely sum of £12. The club re-emerged again in 1919 and played their football in the Derbyshire Senior League. They enjoyed a period of success for the next five-years before once again closing the doors as the premier team of the town in 1924.
Eighty-Eight years later we chose to take the club, for the first time into the twenty-first century and so once again Clay Cross could officially boast a ‘Town’ club.
There has been no change to the members of the club or any of the management team so we will offer the same level of hospitality that previous visitors have enjoyed at Mill Lane and welcome everyone to our friendly club. The four links of the chain on our new club badge are there to depict the four trustees that were so important to the purchase of the Mill Lane ground in 1993 and the development of the Parkhouse club in its formative years.
The management team of Ant Lynam and Andy Thornton will once again be at the helm and hoping to emulate the runners-up position in the North Division last season.
After many years in the waiting we can now boast our fourth season with floodlights on our ground and the acquisition of the same was by funding only from ourselves and no grants from the FA or county association. We will therefore again be able to compete in the Floodlight Trophy this term after losing out in the final for two of the last three seasons.