The Central Midlands League Pre-season Roundup

By Richard Lane

A roundup of the changes ahead of the new season

The new season in the Central Midlands sees a number of changes to the constitution with a number of teams departing and entering.

The Black Dragon North Division consists of 15 teams. Missing from last season are last season’s champions Newark Town who were promoted to the United Counties League, Crowle Colts who have moved sideways to the Lincolnshire League, Clay Cross who transfer to the South Division, Sheffield Reserves who requested a place in Division One and Askern Miners, In their place come Bakewell Town, promoted from Division One Central and Yorkshire Main who rejoin the league from the Doncaster Saturday League having last played in the CML in 2013. Another new name is Hatfield Town who played as Sutton Rovers last season.

Following the late resignation of Hilton Harriers the Black Dragon South Division now has 16 teams. Also gone from the south are Blidworth Welfare who step up to the United Counties League, Sherwood Colliery Reserves competing at Under 21 level and Long Eaton Community who return to youth football. Rowsley 86 will play in Division One while Teversal’s Reserves are replaced by the club’s first team who were relegated from the North East Counties league. Joining the division are Graham Street Prims, dropping from the UCL, Derby Singh Brothers promoted from Division One South and Cromford & Wirksworth Town also promoted from Division One Central.

A re-organisation of the Macron Store Nottingham Division means the renaming of the Central and South divisions to East and West, with each of the three divisions comprising 12 teams. The newcomers in Division One North are development teams from Crowle Colts and Hatfield Town, academy sides Doncaster Elite, who will play at Wombwell, and Sheffield based North of England Football Academy (NEFA) along with Worksop Town Reserves.

The East Division welcomes AFC Normanton who switch from Sunday football, RHP who step up from the junior ranks, Long Bennington, previously in the Notts Senior League and reserve sides from Nottingham FC and Clipstone.

New teams in the West section are Little Eaton and Ashbourne based Mayfield both moving from the Midland Regional Alliance and Holbrook Angels who will play their home matches at the Shaw Lane ground of former CML club Holwell Sports. Completing the line up will be reserve teams from Belper United and Mickleover RBL.

Where next?

The first CML roundup of the season. All the results and scorers from the opening day of the 2022-23 season
CML clubs pre-season matches July 16-22 Pre-season matches involving Central Midlands League teams for the next week

Match centre

Black Dragon North Division
Black Dragon South Division
Macron Store Nottingham Division One (North)
Macron Store Nottingham Division One (East)

Latest photos

Central Midlands Football League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.