Holbrook Park Makeney Road Holbrook Derbyshire DE56 OUH
07551 937803


There has been a football team in Holbrook village at least since the early part of the last century. Local newspaper records show that a team called Holbrook Swifts was successful in cup and league competitions around 1910 - 1912. It is believed that in 1912 this team changed its name to Holbrook Saint Michaels. What is known for sure (we still have the minutes book) it that in early 1932 the local vicar, The Reverend Sides formed a team named after the village church of Saint Michael, to play in the Belper Sunday School League.

We moved to our present ground, Holbrook Park in 1936 and, apart from a short period during the Second World War, we have played continually since winning cup and league competitions. We have had many successes over the years most notably being the only club to win the Derbyshire Divisional Cup Northern section (1975 & 1983) and the Southern section (2006).The Club has progressed through the local leagues: The Belper Amateur League, The Derbyshire Welfare League, The Derby Senior league, The Central Alliance and latterly the Midland Regional Alliance where the Club was the longest serving member. The Club has always endeavoured to be a village team that follows its motto ‘victory with honour’. Our junior section consists of 2 teams competing in the Derby City league

For season 2021/22 Steve Palombo, first team manager and his Assistant Daren Cartwright, continue with their vision for the future for the club adding strength and depth to the squad. Noel Hayes is taking last seasons under17 team into senior football, playing in the Midlands Regional Alliance. We have appointed a Junior development officer to help provide a pathway from junior to senior football. We have recruited several players and our reserves aim to progress with, primarily, a young squad intent on developing into first team players. Dave Wainwright and Simon Billyeald continue in their roles as Manager and assistant.

1937-38 Derby Sunday School (Intermediate Cup) Juniors Cup Winners
1941-42 Derby Sunday School League (Juniors) Champions
1954-55 Derby Welfare League(Sec B) Champions
1963-64 ” ” ” (Sec A) Champions
1967-68 Derby Senior League (Sec 3) Cup-winners
1968-69 ” ” ” Premier Division Cup-winners
1969-70 ” ” ” ” ” Champions
1970-71 Derby Senior League Premier Division Champions
1971-72 ” ” ” Challenge Cup Cup-winners
1972-73 ” ” ” Challenge Cup Cup-winners
” Belper Nursing Charity Cup Cup-winners
1973-74 Derby Senior League Premier Division Champions
” ” ” ” ” Cup Cup-winners
1974-75 Derby Premier League Division 1 Champions
” ” ” ” ” Cup-winners
” ” Senior League Division 3 (3rd X1) Champions
” Derbyshire F.A. Divisional Cup (North) Cup-winners
” Belper Nursing Charity Cup Cup-winners
1976-77 Belper Jubilee Cup Cup-winners
1980-81 Belper Nursing Charity Cup Cup-winners
1981-82 ” ” ” Cup-winners
1982-83 Belper Floodlit Cup Cup-winners
” ” ” ” Champions
” Derbyshire F.A. Divisional Cup (North) Cup-winners
1990-91 Belper Nursing Charity Cup Cup-winners
1997-98 Midland Regional Alliance Junior Cup (2nd X1) Cup-winners
2003-04 Midland Regional Alliance League Premier Division Champions
2004-05 Belper Nursing Charity Cup Cup-winners
2005-06 Derbyshire F.A Divisional Cup (South) Cup-winners
2009-10 Stan Brewster Memorial Cup Cup-winners

Latest Results

Thu 16 May
Mon 13 May
4 – 0 W
Sat 11 May
1 – 4 L

Abacus Lighting Central Midlands Alliance League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.